So most every Tuesday, I make an honest effort to get together with a friend and former colleague from the airline bidness.  Today being no exception, we got in a good 40 minutes of whatchaupto and some insightful conversations on communications.  Par for the course.

He’s making his way through a book from the ’20s…or is it the ’30s…The Golden Book of Writing.  I passed my copy of the copywriter’s primer Hey Whipple, Squeeze This, filled with my notes and marginalia. In sharing about his reading, he noted that all communications come back to “[using the right words to get your message to your audience].”  Simple enough. 

And that’s when it hit me like a warm pat on the back: That’s what copywriters do.  We try to find the right words and–coupled with art directors–marry them with the language of the eye.  If you do it right, right there, in the middle of it all, is the message perched in a way that makes the audience take notice.

I suppose that I’ve known that all along, but never reduced the copywriter’s craft to such a, well, a simple idea.  And to think that I fill 40 hours a week trying to follow that missive.

